My review of new Honda Activa-i scooter


Are you looking for Honda Activa-i reviews? Here is my first review of the Activa i scooter. If you are confused between Activa and Activa-i, read this review before you make your selection.

I have been closely watching the new Honda Activa-i from the time Honda announced it in India. I read through all technical specification in detail and did a comprehensive analysis. Still I could not make a decision on which one to pick. Which one is better - Activa or Activa-i, is the question that puzzled me last several days.

Today I decided to take a closer look at the new model. I walked into the Aryabhangy Honda at Aluva, Kerala and spend about an hour with the scooter and the people over there. I watched, touched and experienced the Activa-i and discussed the details with the staff. Let me share my review of Honda Activa-i with you all.

Honda Activa i review


Honda Activa-I ReviewsI was able to park both the old and new models side by side and compare the style and appearance. I took many photos as well, which you can see here.

The look and style of the new scooter is really impressive. Even though Honda claims it suits both genders, the new model has a more of feminine appearance due to its sleek appearance. When you see both models side by side, you will immediately conclude the Activa is for the men and Activa-i is for the women.

In our case, we were looking for a scooter that both myself and my wife can drive. My wife is really impressed with the style and appearance of the Activa-i but I am hesitating only because of its feminine look! But as usual, the final call is made by the boss and so, we will get our Activa-i soon:-)

Let us come back to the review. Here are some points to consider before you make a decision:

  • It is a really cool scooter for the family, even though it is more suitable for women only for its sleek look.

  • Activa-i is powered by the same 110cc engine used in the Activa. So, the smaller size of i-variant does not compromise on the power.

  • Pretty much the same technology is used in both the models.

  • The combi-break system in both the models are really useful and gives you some additional protection and safety when you apply quick brakes. This is an advantage for all new Honda scooters compared to other brands.


  • Overall, I am impressed with the new Activa-i scooter from Honda. If you are thinking about buying a new scooter, Activa-i is a good choice. So far, I have no negative reviews about it but if I discover something bad about it later, I will definitely add here.

    Did you look at this scooter? Or, do you have anything to share? Please share your experience and feedback below.


    Related Articles

    Honda Activa-I specifications

    Are you looking for technical specifications of Honda Activa-I scooter in India? Read complete technical specifications of the all new Activa-I, the personal compact scooter.

    Honda Activa-I Price

    Find out the price of Honda Activa-I in various Indian cities. Follow this article to get latest updates, price, discounts and offers for Activa-I scooter anywhere in India.

    Honda Activa-I: Information

    Are you looking for information on Honda Activa-I scooter? Read the official press release and other available information about Honda Activa-I scooter.

    Honda Activa-I colors and variants

    Want to know more about different variants and available colors of the Honda Activa-I? Read more about the variants and available colors.

    Activa-i Test Drive and Reviews

    Are you looking for hands on reviews of Honda Activa-I? Want to find out what the auto experts think about the Activa-I test drive? Read more.

    More articles: Honda Activa I

    Comments

    Author: Sanjay24 Jul 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 0

    Activa-i is a superb scooty with great mileage. New awesome look and amazing alloy wheels.

    Guest Author: shelly jose25 Jul 2013

    I am planing to buy one. Its Ex-show room price is given Rs.44,200 but my dealer said it will cost 56,000 on road. Will I get Total guard and front cabin, like in activa for Activa-i?(optional items)? Is it meant for women? What is the actual mileage on road? Any how, I am impressed in its appearance.

    Guest Author: Rijo28 Jul 2013

    What is the height of the scooter ? Is it comfortable for short girls?

    Guest Author: param29 Jul 2013

    Actually I have to learn driving. Is Activa a better choice than Activa i?

    Guest Author: Rijo03 Aug 2013

    What about the comfort, vibration of scooter, and durability compared to classic Activa? Which is more comfortable for city riding?

    Guest Author: Sunilkumar05 Aug 2013

    Why black color is not available? I like black color. Can I get it? This is self or kick start? Please reply to me below address.

    Guest Author: Arunkumar12 Aug 2013

    Hi all,

    I bought this vehicle for my wife. Lot of Pros such as light weight, easy ride, good mileage, good pickup, great style and shape.

    A trivial con - Horn should have been better.

    Guest Author: Rijo21 Aug 2013

    Everything is fine, except the look and style.

    Guest Author: Siby Varghese31 Aug 2013

    Here is a real opinion about the Activa I from a real owner of this scooter.

    45 days ago I bought this vehicle. So I thought of adding few lines about new Activa-I, which has recently launched in the market. Overall performance is good. Now I can't predict much about the new launch. But from the last 45 days of use, now it gives me mileage of 42 km/l. But I can expect a city mileage up to 50 after the second service. Suspension is poor as other activa since it has no telescopic suspension. Parking is very easy with center stand for female since it is light weight. It gives good pick up also. I will tell you the exact mileage once the second service get over. It has no key lock hide system as other activa has. Ground clearance is very very good than other activa.

    Guest Author: Rijo12 Sep 2013

    I brought Activa-I on 11-sept-2013. Really a good product to own. From my experience I can say a few things:

    1. When we say light weight product, we compare it with Activa. Yes, its marginally low weight compared with Activa Std. But Activa-I is not at all lighter(103KG).

    2. I can't feel the suspension is very poor. As I am riding in my father's Aviator(Telescopic). So I can't feel any marginal difference.

    3. I don't like the back opening of the product.

    Guest Author: varada18 Sep 2013

    I want to buy this scooter. What do you think, I should buy it or not?

    Guest Author: RAJESH21 Sep 2013

    Hi everybody

    I purchased Activa-I on date 09/09/13. Before deciding to purchase Activa-I, I was thinking about the Pleasure but due to mileage & Engine 110CC difference I choose Activa-I.

    Before purchase Activa-I, I contacted all dealers to get the best deal because some dealers charged AMC, ACC, EX. WARR. etc, which comes to almost 5K.

    Now my review of Activa-I is
    1.It’s a good comfort, No any vibration at driving stage, to silent engine, pickup us very good, you feel essay drive in traffic.
    2.Mileage riding is (reserve to reserve) observe,
    ·1st time mileage 51km @ 10-20 speed
    ·2nd time mileage 58km @ 30-40 speed.

    I will update my review after some time

    In sort it’s a good scooter for family.

    Guest Author: Pradip Kumar Sarkar28 Oct 2013

    Hi,

    I also want to purchase a scooty for my wife and confused between Activa I and Hero Pleasure. Although from reviews it looks better to go for the Activa i, but as I have not seen it personally, some doubts about its suitability for women/girls like Pleasure or TVS Street, easiness in handling etc. Can anyone suggest me?

    Author: RAGHAVENDRA RAO08 Nov 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 4

    I bought it yesterday and rode for 120kms initially on highway at a constant speed of 30-40kmph. Amazingly I'm satisfied with the scooter but not satisfied with the dealer. My on road price was 53K and they called for delivery at 11.00am but I got delivery at 7.00pm. But due to Honda and dealers mutual understanding, I had to pay additional 10,000/- to get my Activa-i. The dealer is NARMADA HONDA in MAHBUBNAGAR. Mine was the first ACTIVA I in the district. They are giving instant delivery of the vehicle. You can contact VenuGopal ph:9440295401.

    Guest Author: karanveer kour20 Dec 2013

    I have written a post on Activa i. Please go through it.
    http://vanishgirl.blogspot.in/2013/12/my-activa-my-ride.html

    Guest Author: Prateek Kumar26 Dec 2013

    I am planning to buy this scooter from my sister. Will it be a good buy?

    Guest Author: Shailendra05 Jan 2014

    Hello,

    I bought an activa I recently, the vehicle is pathetic. Honda clamied 60 kmpl, but my bike gives less than 20kmpl. Apart from this, there are a lot of other problems with the bike, starting from brakes(combi brakes-not as good as its supposed to be, infact worse than any other bikes's brakes). One of the screws on the bike has already fallen (i drive on good roads, and have never met with any accident). I made a very big mistake by buying Activa-i. I have already placed ads for selling this bike.

    A frustrated customer,
    Shailendra

    Guest Author: abhay24 Jan 2014

    I am using Activa-i (white) since 4 months. Mileage is 50kmpl, after first service on Hyderabad roads. The fiber body is too sensitive. There is much chance to skid if you cross 60 speed. The bad thing about Activa i is, it is becoming so dusty as the body is full open we have to struggle in cleaning for better looks. The old Activa body is fully covered and that was better. It will not shine after cleaning as it is fiber body. Front wheel suspension is too poor and so bumping.

    Author: sanjay goyal28 Jan 2014 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 3

    I bought an Activa i about 3 month back at Belgaum from Vanisha Honda. Some of the parts were damaged and I visited the showroom for repair. The parts are not available and behaviour of the staff is also not good. Than I visited another show room of Honda - Mangesh Honda. He refused to take up the vehicle for repair. It is ridiculous. He told me that job card is not open at another show room. What happens if I move to another the city?

    Author: Rachana Nayak30 Jan 2014 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 0

    I am an proud owner of Activa I. Good performance

    Guest Author: Prasanth21 Feb 2014

    Activa i disppointed me, the mileage is just 40 kmph and has engine starting problems. Engine stops in signal and also bike never starts without using choke. I would not suggest people to buy this Activa i.

    Guest Author: Meenakshi20 Mar 2014

    Its been two months since I bought this bike. It's my first bike experience.. Some observations below:

    1. Before first service mileage was between 50-55 km.
    2. After first service mileage is between 52-58 km.
    3. Its definitely lighter than many other bikes because I tried riding few other bikes. It's easy to put center stand even for a lady. I do it everyday.
    4. It's a very smooth ride and easy to handle.
    5. Ground clearance is also pretty good.

    Hope this helps. Overall I'm very satisfied and enjoy riding.

    Guest Author: S V Rao12 May 2014

    Last week I was travelling on my Honda Activa I and both myself and my brother sitting behind had a fall due to skidding. Fortunately nothing much happened. I guess there was oil and grease on the road which caused it. I have heard Disc Brakes are good in these scenarios, is it possible to add it now in Honda Activa I. Any other tips?

    Guest Author: Chandu15 May 2014

    90 days ago, I bought this vehicle. Overall performance is good. But head lamp is worst. From the last 90 days of use, now it gives me mileage of 52 km/l. But I can expect a city mileage up to 55 after the second service. Suspension is very very poor as other Activa since it has no telescopic suspension. I will tell you the exact mileage once the second service gets over. Ground clearance is very very good than other Activa. But Honda dealers are cheating (Price's) in accessories. Other company also giving 5 years warranty, but this company is giving only 2 years and they are taking Rs 700 for again 3 years extendable warranty.

    Guest Author: Yashoda14 Jun 2014

    What can I do? Can I get Honda Activa I?

    Guest Author: yusuf m b29 Aug 2014

    Proudly owns activa -I. Same engine as of activa ,aviator & dio.only I missed here are the telescopic suspensions. You will absolutely FLY . ie. As said in the advertisement ' ud '. Another marvellous feather from the
    House of WiNGS.



  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:
    Email: